Inspiration

One of my mentors, Ian Crossley aka Croz from Oz (twitter @CrozfromOz) posted this survey on Twitter.

Who has inspired you most and why? #inspiredby Should be fun and very interesting. Thank you for your input. Let’s go!!

I thought about it, and the more that I thought, more I became convinced that I couldn’t do it in 140 characters or less, so here is my response and i will put up a link to this on Twitter.

My first inspiration was my dad. He never tried to teach me anything. Instead he always helped me to learn for myself. If I asked him the meaning of a word or something, he would bring out the dictionary. He is the reason I am always learning new things. He also had a wry sense of humor. When I told him I was cutting a wisdom tooth, he replied, I hope it brings you some wisdom. Thanks Puppa.

Then there were a couple of Middle school teachers, Mr Liaqat and Mr Naqvi who encouraged and instilled in me the love of public speaking and writing.

That led me to reading a lot and I found many authors that inspired me at various times in my life. M Scott Peck, Wayne Dyer, Zig Zigler, Deepak Chopra, Richard Bach and Shakti Gawain to name a few. Peck and Bach in particular.

Barney Paradise taught me how to run a traditional business in a very unconventional way. he inspired me to be the best and I always credited him for my success in corprate world.

My biggest inspiration is my Spiritual Master Prince Karim Aga Khan, whose Aga Khan Development Network (http://www.AKDN.org) is probably the largest of its kind, that has been working wonders in the developing countries for the last half a century.

These are just to mention a few. of course I would be doing myself a dis-service if I didn’t include my children in this list. They inspire me to stretch beyond my comfort zone.

I am very fortunate and very grateful for having these wonderful people in my life to help me grow, and I only hope that I can repay them adequately by paying it forward.

Thank you Croz for this opportunity to express my gratitude to these people and please accept my most sincere thanks for what you have done to help me move forward and for this wonderful opportunity.

2 Responses

  1. Great Rasheed

    Thanks for the kind words.

    Your buddy

    Croz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

