If you’re going to dream, Dream BIG

“I like thinking big…if you’re going to be thinking anyway, you might as well think big.” — Donald Trump 

I love that quote.

When was the last time you thought big? I mean really big. You’re wayyyyy out of your league, BIG?

For me, it was about five years ago. I decided that I want to become the oldest person to ever reach the summit of Mount Everest. At that time, the record was 64 years old, and I figured by the time I am 64, that record probably will be gone.

Considering the physical condition I was in, and the fact that I have never climbed anything higher than 2000 feet above sea level, maybe 500 feet above ground, I knew it would have to be in the distant future. I figured 75 would be a good round number. So I set a goal to climb the Mount Everest on my 75th Birthday.

That was five years ago. Just last month I celebrated my 55th birthday, which gave me reason to ponder on my dream. What have I done in the past five years that has brought me closer to the realization of my dream?

My initial response was, “not a darn thing.” But, upon further pondering I realized that I have made considerable progress towards the fulfillment of my dream.

First and foremost, it is no longer a whim. In the past five years I have ingrained it into my subconscious as something that will take place. it is a given, not a wishful thinking. I must confess, that it started out as a joke, upon a whim of thinking big, but it has taken on a life of itself now.

The first thing I did, when I made that goal, was to search for a picture of Mt Everest on the web and set it as my desktop visual. Then, I told my family about it. My wife laughed, my daughter (13 at the time) thought it would be cool, and my son (11 at the time) wanted to know how old would he be then and if he could go with me. (he has since then changed his mind about it).

The next thing I did was to share it on-line in a forum at SOGR. I was studying the Science of Getting Rich (SOGR) at the time, as I am now, since it is a continuous study, and I was very active on the forum and had a following with whom I exchanged ideas. Everyone was very supportive. Not only that, some people promised to hold me accountable for it. (I am so grateful for them)

Next, I started telling people in my off line network – friends, extended family, colleagues, Toastmasters – about it. In five years, I have only found only one person who ever made fun of it (“I suppose you can pay someone to carry you up there”).

It is funny, when you make a commitment and are focused on something, life will bring you whatever you need. About a year ago, while sitting in the ortodontist’s office, I saw a magazine with Harrison Ford’s picture on the cover (the new Indiana Jones movie was coming out). As I looked at the table of contents to see what page the story was on, another article caught my eyes.

“Three year plan to the top of Mount Everest” 

I forgot about Indy Jones. That article made me realize that it was time to supplement my visualization with some serious planning and action. The article described the minimum physical capacity BEFORE starting the training, which would evetually lead someone to the top of Mt Everest. That was an eye opening list. I figured I could do it in six years instead of three. That would put me at sixty.

Earlier this year, I set that as my primary mid term goal. I am going to make my first summit of the Everest in 2014, on or around my sixtieth birthday. I made the commitment that I will change my lifestyle so as to make that a reality, not just a possibility.

I have made a few Quantum Leaps, and life is constantly presenting me with new information and opportunities to make the needed changes as I move towards the realization of my dream.

As a result, I am working on launching another blog in the near future, that will be dedicated to my journey to the top of the world. The purpose will be create a blueprint for others to follow, but I know, along the way, it will become much more than that. Life just works out that way.

COMMITMENT

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation) there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself then Providence moves too.

 All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in ones favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, that no man could have dreamed would come his way. I have learned a deep respect for one of Goethe’s couplets:

 Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. 

W. H. Murray
The Scottish Himalayan Expedition

What are you dreaming of?

Whatever it is, Make it BIG!

Larger than life BIG!.  

Out of this world BIG!

I promise you, Life will go out of its way to help you grow into it.

And when you have discovered it, you’ll realize that it is one of the main reasons why you came into this world.

“To find out what you love to do demands a great deal of intelligence; because, if you are afraid of not being able to earn a livelihood, or of not fitting into this rotten society, then you will never find out.

But, if you are not frightened, if you refuse to be pushed into the groove of tradition by your parents, by your teachers, by the superficial demands of society, then there is a possibility of discovering what it is you really love to do. So, to discover, there must be no fear of not surviving.” — Krishnamurti

5 Responses

  1. Great to read this Rasheed! I look forward to following your journey. Thanks for sharing. It is inspirational. warmly, Carolyn

  2. Thank you, Carolyn

    It was good to hear from you. I will keep you posted as soon as I start the journey blog.

    Rasheed

  3. [...] Top Posts If you're going to dream, Dream BIG [...]

  4. [...] month, I revisited my goal, and blogged about it in one of my other [...]

  5. [...] shape or condition to follow that plan. I knew I would have to start getting in shape soon enough, if I was to ever make my dream of climbing Mt Everest a reality. A year went by before I took any [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

