Mind, Body, and Spirit

Last week my son called from school. he had fever and his stomach was aching. My wife picked him up and brought him home. Later that day, he was running a fever of 103 degrees. I was out climbing Enchanted Rock. My wife called and I got home at 10 PM.

View from the top of Enchanted Rock

View from the top of Enchanted Rock

Later that night, around 1 AM, he woke me up. His body was shaking uncontrollably. He said he had no chills, but couldn’t control the shakes. I gave him a hug and I was shaking. We got in the car and headed for the Emergency Room.

 A urine test, several blood tests, a cat scan, an hour of IV drip. Five hours later, we came back with a prescription for pain medication. Diagnosis: we couldn’t find anything. It’s probably a virus, and there is an outside chance that it may be the appendix; can’t tell by the cat scan. If the pain returns, hurry back to ER.

We figured a couple days of rest should take care of the virus. But the fever persisted. It will come and go. So finally we made the trip to the pediatrician. She had all the records faxed over. Glad we don’t have a serious problem. Just rest and you should be okay by tomorrow. Then, oh, just in case, let’s test him for flu. Result was not only positive, it was definitely positive. They took another sample to send it to the county Health Dept. to check for the Swine Flu. She prescribed some medicine, and no, you can not sit for the SAT exam this weekend.

He was still running a fever of 103, when I took my daughter to take the SAT exam yesterday morning. I did some shopping for balloonsafterwards before heading to have fun. (I make balloon animals and other creations to entertain children – and adults – and make a lot of money in the process. It’s a great way to make a living) I was gone all day. I received reports through out the day that he was getting better.

Balloon Swords

Balloon Swords

When I came home around 10 PM, I asked him how he was doing. He said he was fine. The fever was gone and he was in good spirits. He came into my office around 10:30. “Hey, papa! You know all these signs you that have posted and use to remind yourself of your power? Well, I made up one of mine. Wanna hear?”

“Sure what you got?”

“My mind, body, and spirit are the most powerful things in this Universe, and because of this blessed gift, I can overcome anything.”

“Oh, that’s awesome.” I said. I immediately added it to my collection of quotes. He said he had a a few more. (Note to self: Get them from him later, and next time don’t wait to do so).

Now, he didn’t say so, but I know, it was the affirmation and the FEELING of power he got from it, that cured him almost instantaneously. When you are focused, the results are almost instantaneous.

I am so grateful that I was able to impact his of thinking and so very proud of him. I know I will be spending quiet  some time today repeating that affirmation and feeling its power. He is such an inspiration to all.

Do you have a particular affirmation that worked for you particularly well? Share it with everyone in the comments. I know I would like to know about it.

13 Responses

  1. Great story Rasheed and a great quote.

    I hope your son continues to stay well.

    ” The things you learn with experience will never lose value ”

    Abundance to All

    Croz

  2. If there’s anything that makes it all worthwhile, it’s seeing your children and loved ones “get it”…knowing you are leaving a legacy of positivity and conscious creation.

    Thanks for sharing this story, and for your living demonstration of persistence, even when results are not evident for a while.

  3. Thanks, Croz and Cathy

    Yes, I was very pleased with it and that’s why I decided to blog about it. Thanks for your feedback. Please feel free to pass the link on to others.

    Rasheed

  4. Great Story, Rasheed.. I have an affirmation story for you. I had several times had a pain in my chest which I thought to be indigestion, but I hadn’t been to the doctor’s for years so went for a checkup. He detected a heart arrhythmia. An EKG confirmed. I refused drugs and set about affirming “I have a sound, strong, regularly-beating heart…” repeated about 20 times every morning as I walked the dogs and several times every evening. Within six months the misbeat was barely detectable and a recent ultrasonic scan failed to find any trace of irregular heartbeat whatsoever. Affirmations work!

    • Frederick, Thanks for sharing your story. Yes, the affirmations work, and I have learned over the years that if you can FEEL the end results “in your bones” so to speak, as you’re affirming, then the results are faster.

      Thank you for taking the time out to comment and share.

      Rasheed

  5. Nice write up Rasheed. Your son should start a quoting business prettty sharp forhis age. When you stay positive all the time it rubs off subconsciously on our friends and family…good messsage

    • Thanks for the comments and the encouraging words, Ofili. I truly appreciate it. Rasheed

  6. Great story Rasheed!

  7. Great blog Rasheed. Please consider sharing more of your life’s lessons with an even larger audience on the Examiner. Your interview will be a terrific beginning…and for that, I’m very grateful. You could become a National Happiness Examiner…our nation NEEDS you!!
    Thanks again for tweeting me on this blog~
    Jim

    • Thanks for the kind words, Jim. I am glad you enjoyed it. I had tried Examiner as a travel writer, but I didn’t enjoy it. However, I will consider your suggestion and re-examine the Examiner. :-)

  8. Great story of how the mind and body work together for healing!

    All the best!

    Wendy

  9. [...] month, I revisited my goal, and blogged about it in one of my other [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

